LEGISLATIVE UPDATE

OREA LEGISLATIVE UPDATE - MARCH 23, 2018

THEY ARE GOING TO TAKE OUR MONEY AGAIN!

Through a very subtle attempt, under the guise of “apportionment reform,” there is proposed legislation that would reduce certain dedicated revenue funds. SB 1569 (Apportionment Reform) - This bill, authored by Senator Schulz and Rep. McCall, would require dedicated funds to be reduced by the same percentage amount of a revenue shortfall, including dedicated revenues to the Teacher Retirement System. We OPPOSE this bill because it doesn’t create ANY new revenue, and basically “robs Peter to pay Paul” by reducing the dedicated revenue and giving it back to the legislature to use for appropriated revenues. It passed out of the Senate 36-7, and is now assigned to the House Appropriations and Budget Committee.

Please call:

Representative Phone Email
Kevin Wallace, Chair 405-557-7368 Kevin.wallace@okhouse.gov
Dennis Casey, Vice Chair 405-557-7344 Dennis.casey@okhouse.gov
John Bennett 405-557-7315 John.bennett@okhouse.gov
Chad Caldwell 405-557-7317 Chad.caldwell@okhouse.gov
Kevin Calvey 405-557-7357 Kevin.calvey@okhouse.gov
Josh Cockroft 405-557-7349 Josh.cockraft@okhouse.gov
Jason Dunnington 405-557-7396 Jason.dunnington@okhouse.gov
Jon Echols 405-557-7354 Jon.echols@okhouse.gov
Elise Hall 405-557-7403 Elise.hall@okhouse.gov
Scott Inman 405-557-7370 Scott.inman@okhouse.gov
John Paul Jordan 405-557-7352 Jp.jordan@okhouse.gov
Chris Kannady 405-557-7337 Chris.kannady@okhouse.gov
Steve Kouplen 405-557-7306 Steve.kouplen@okhouse.gov
Mark Lepak 405-557-7380 Mark.lepak@okhouse.gov
Ben Loring 405-557-7399 Ben.loring@okhouse.gov
Mark McBride 405-557-7346 Mark.mcbride@okhouse.gov
Terry O’Donnell 405-557-7379 Terry.odonnell@okhouse.gov
Charles Ortega 405-557-7369 Charles.ortega@okhouse.gov
Leslie Osborn 405-557-7333 Leslie.osborn@okhouse.gov
Pat Ownbey 405-557-7326 Pat.ownbey@okhouse.gov
John Pfeiffer 405-557-7332 John.pfeiffer@okhouse.gov
Eric Proctor 405-557-7410 Eric.proctor@okhouse.gov
Dustin Roberts 405-557-7366 Dustin.roberts@okhouse.gov
Todd Russ 405-557-7312 Todd.russ@okhouse.gov
Mike Sanders 405-557-7407 Mike.sanders@okhouse.gov
Earl Sears 405-557-7358 Earl.sears@okhouse.gov
Shane Stone 405-557-7397 Shane.stone@okhouse.gov
Emily Virgin 405-557-7323 Emily.virgin@okhouse.gov
Weldon Watson 405-557-7330 Weldon.watson@okhouse.gov

After calling the committee members, call your own, personal legislator. Please call OREA if you need help.

COLA Bill HB 2985-Was not heard on the floor of the House; House leadership, under the influence of Rep. Randy McDaniel, would not allow the bill to be on the floor agenda. It was referred to the Appropriations and Budget Committee to die.

Stipend Bill HB 1340- [McDaniel (H) and Treat (S)]-This bill would provide a one-time, 2% of annual benefit to TRS retirees, capped at $1000; must be retired 5 years to receive. It passed out of the House and is now assigned to the Senate Retirement and Insurance Committee. We are hoping to work with the authors to make some changes to the bill.

Sabra Tucker
OREA Executive Director

Legislative Update Archives

Legislative
Goals

Lobbying
Tips

Find Your
Legislator